Song of the Week | Stars - Privilege

Song of the Week | Stars - Privilege

Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

The latest WFMO X Music Savage Show “Song of the Week” spotlight is focused on the brilliant new single, “Privilege,” from Toronto/Montreal indie-rock legends Stars. The six-piece band have just signed with Last Gang Records /eOne, and will be releasing their ninth studio album, There Is No Love In Fluorescent Light, on October 13th, 2017.

Stars are Evan Cranley, Chris McCarron, Amy Millan, Patty McGee, Chris Seligman and Torquil Campbell. The band formed in 2000 and released their fantastic debut, Nightsongs, in 2001, although at that time Stars was mainly a duo consisting of Seligman and Campbell with Amy Millan and Emily Haines (Metric) making appearances on the album. It was the band’s third album, Set Yourself on Fire, released in 2004, that put the Canadian rockers on the music world’s radar for good.

“Privilege” is the lead track and perfectly sets the tone album’s tone with Milan’s otherworldly voice layered over radiant guitar chords that swell as the drums kick in midway bringing the song to a magnificent height of orchestral rock n’ roll. It is classic Stars and yet still sounds as fresh and invigorating as ever. A grand achievement for a band that has been leading the symphonic-pop movement for almost two-decades.

Pre-order There Is No Love In Fluorescent Light